The path of opportunity

by Becca Hennessy, NDFB Northwest Field Representative

I’ve had many moments in my life where it seemed easier to follow the path of the known and familiar outcome. If you’re a follower of Enneagrams, you can easily find me under Enneagram 6. I’m a planner, a people pleaser, and I HATE failure and disappointing people. I thrive off knowing what’s ahead.

As I’ve gotten older, the need to be the people pleaser 100% of the time has eased a bit, but having to know what’s ahead has not. It’s not that having this mentality is always bad, it can just be mentally grueling sometimes. It can cause some internal conflict when it comes time to make plans or big decisions in my life.

For example, this year I took a big step and decided to turn my hobby of photography into an actual side business. Thoughts of the unknown and the imposter syndrome mentality was a big block to get past for me personally. I still deal with it. However, I’m also proud of myself for finally taking that step forward. My experience has broadened so much just since the start of the year.

Some people think of the unknown and it excites them while others, like me, might get excited but may also feel like throwing up! Either way, life is way too short to shut the door on opportunity.

Working for NDFB has helped me gain so much confidence. I think a lot of that has to do with seeing people around me like NDFB members and staff find their own path toward opportunity and not slamming the door on it.

I know I often end my posts with how grateful I am to work for this organization of incredible members, but it’s not something I throw around lightly. The people I have met and worked with since starting at NDFB in 2019, have helped shape who I have become not only in my work life but personal as well. Thank you!

Leave a comment