Don’t forget to make family memories!

by Haley Robison, NDFB Southwest Field Representative

Summer on the ranch has not been much of a vacation so far. June is always filled with things like finishing up brandings, fencing, getting cows situated on summer pasture, AI’ing, and sorting bulls. To add to the busy schedule, this year, we decided to put some embryos in for the first time. It’s a lot of juggling breeding schedules and moving the tub and alley and chute from pasture to pasture depending on where it’s needed. We are also trying to improve our grass, so we are doing a lot of rotational grazing and moving electric fence this year. All these things are putting us closer and closer to our goals, but I feel like sometimes we forget the fun.

The boys are with us at every breeding project and moving every hot wire, but I don’t want them to feel like the only thing we do is work. Now don’t get me wrong, having a strong work ethic is a great attribute. However, we need to make sure we don’t forget to have some fun in the small stuff. Sometimes I feel guilty and worry that they will get burnt out on our lifestyle too early in life, so I always try to add in some fun for them.

Fun might be bringing water guns and toys to play in the creek after a long day of fencing. Or if we are making a quick trip to town for parts, we stop to grab an ice cream cone or play at the park. Our fun might not be going to the local pool every day or going to story time at the library, but I hope that I am doing enough of the little extra things to make memories with our kids. I want them to remember the joy of playing in the creek or getting that treat in town. I hope they someday realize the extra effort we tried to put in for them to have some fun!

It’s so easy to be stressed and work all the time to try getting everything done. Sometimes that’s how our days go. I have to remind myself and my husband that the work will still be there in a few hours or the next day, but the time with our kids is something we will never get back!

So, if there’s anything you can take away from this, just remember to be present and make some lasting memories in the small moments!

Leave a comment